Chi Alpha Epsilon
             National Honor Society Incorporated
Founded at West Chester University of Pennsylvania, Chi Alpha Epsilon was organized in 1990
in response to an increasing need to acknowledge the continuing success of students in West
Chester Development Program.  Recognizing that students who share similar experiences could
serve as significant models for others, Dr. Elbert M. Saddler proposed a Greek Letter Honor Society.
Dr. Saddler, a University Psychologist and Counseling Coordinator for the ACT 101 Program,
identified eligible students to form the nucleus who are now the Founding Members of XAE.
Directors of Developmental Programs at other colleges and universities across the United States
have hailed its formation and, in 1995, the Pennsylvania Association of Developmental Educators
adopted Chi Alpha Epsilon as the Honor Society for Developmental Program students in


Chi Alpha Epsilon was formed to recognize the Academic Achievements of students admitted to
colleges and universities through non-traditional criteria who utilize Developmental Education
Support Services.  Its purpose is to promote continued high academic standards, foster increased
communication among its members, and honor the Academic Excellence of those students admitted
to college via Developmental Program pathways.  The involvement of eligible alumni further enables
networking for members.  Programs sponsored by the society chapters encourage other students
Academic Accomplishment.
Membership in Chi Alpha Epsilon is offered through local campus chapters to eligible students
and alumni.  Students who hold a 3.00 cumulative G.P.A. for two consecutive full-time semesters
and who were admitted to the college/university via developmental or higher education opportunity
type programs are eligible for membership.  Alumni who graduate with a 3.00 or better cumulative
average prior to the formation of a campus chapter may, once a chapter is founded, be organized
 into graduate chapters.


                                  November 4, 1999

Barbara Camacho               Jairo Cano                    Walter Cano                  Rebeca Cores

Thuy Do                             Sandy Forsythe           Thomas Ender, Jr.         Shaden Hassan

Luisa Hernandez               Brian Kiernan                Neysa  Miranda            Audeliz Perez

Perzavia Praylow              Marisol Quero               Charo Valdez                 Antoine White

                                                                          Go to top page

                                                                                                       Shortcut to Home

Copyright © 1999 Drew University, Educational Opportunity Scholars Program