Bertrand Russell

The Russell Society Page

About Bertrand Russell

A Russell Chronology

A Russell Bibliography

Russell Books & Articles

Other Russell Resources

About the Russell Society

JOIN the Russell Society!

Officers and Organization

Contact the BRS

Peter Hylton

BR Selected Letters,v1

BR Selected Letters,v2

Ray Perkins

sPeter Stone, Tim Madigan

Russell Wahl



SOCIETY Book Award Winners

2022   Jan Vrhovski and Jana Rosker (eds.), Bertrand Russell's Visit to China (Ljublana Universty Press, 2021)

2021   Andrew Bone (ed.), The Collected Papers of Bertrand Russesll, vol. 26, Cold War Fears and Hopes, 1950-1952 (Routledge, 2020)

2020   No Award Given

2019   Russell Wahl (ed.), The Bloomsbury Companion to Bertrand Russell (Bloomsbury Academic, 2018)

2018   No Award Given

2017   Tim Madigan and Peter Stone, eds., Bertrand Russell: Public Intellectual (Tiger Bark, 2016)

2016   Donovan Wishon and Bernard Linsky, Knowledge, Acquaintance, and Logic: New Essays on Bertrand Russell’s Problems of Philosophy

2015   Gülberk Koç Maclean, Bertrand Russell’s Bundle Theory of Particulars (Bloomsbury 2014)

2014   John Ongley and Rosalind Carey, Russell: A Guide for the Perplexed (Bloomsbury 2013)

2014   Jolen Galaugher, Russell’s Philosophy of Logical Analysis (Palgrave Macmillan 2013)

2013   Sébastien Gandon, Russell’s Unknown Logicism (Palgrave Macmillan 2012)

2012   Bernard Linsky, The Evolution of Principia Mathematica (Cambridge University Press 2011)

2011   Gregory Landini, Russell (Routledge 2010)

2010   A. Doxiadis and C. Papadimitriou, Logicomix: An Epic Search for Truth (Bloomsbury 2009)

2009   Omar Nasim, Bertrand Russell and the Edwardian Philosophers (Palgrave Macmillan 2008)

2008   Gregory Landini, Wittgenstein’s Apprenticeship with Russell (Cambridge 2007)

2007   Michael Potter, Bertrand Russell’s Ethics (Continuum 2006)

2006   Graham Stevens, The Russellian Origins of Analytic Philosophy (Routledge 2005)

2005   Godehard Link (ed.), One Hundred Years of Russell’s Paradox (Walter De Gruyter 2004)

2004   Nicholas Griffin (ed.), The Cambridge Companion to Bertrand Russell (Cambridge 2003)

2004   Special Book Award: Ronald Jager, The Development of Bertrand Russell’s Philosophy    (Humanities Press 1972)

2003   Ray Perkins, Jr. (ed.), Yours Faithfully, Bertrand Russell: A Lifelong Fight for Peace, Justice, and Truth in Letters to the Editor (Open Court 2001)

2002   Nicholas Griffin (ed.), The Selected Letters of Bertrand Russell: The Public Years, 1914-1970 (Routledge 2001)

2001   Thom Weidlich, Appointment Denied: The Inquisition of Bertrand Russell (Prometheus Books 2000)

2000   Charles Pigden (ed.), Russell on Ethics: Selections from the Writings of Bertrand Russell (Routledge 1999)

1999   Gregory Landini, Russell’s Hidden Substitutional Theory (Oxford University Press 1998)

1998   John G. Slater and Peter Kollner (eds.) The Collected Papers of Bertrand Russell, v. 10, A Fresh Look at Empiricism, 1927-1942 The Collected Papers of Bertrand Russell, v. 11, Last Philosophical Testament, 1943-1968 (Routledge 1996, 1997)

1997   Ray Monk, Bertrand Russell: The Spirit of Solitude 1872-1921 (Free Press 1996)

1996   Paul J. Hager, Continuity and Change in the Development of Bertrand Russell’s Philosophy (Kluwer 1994)

1995   Kenneth Blackwell and Harry Ruja (eds.), A Bibliography of Bertrand Russell (Routledge 1994)

1994   Caroline Moorehead, Bertrand Russell: A Life (Viking Adult 1993)

1993   Nicholas Griffin, The Selected Letters of Bertrand Russell, Volume I, 1894-1914 (Houghton Mifflin 1992)

1992   Nicholas Griffin, Russell’s Idealist Apprenticeship (Oxford 1991)

1991   Peter Hylton, Russell, Idealism and the Emergence of Analytic Philosophy (Oxford 1990)

1990   Elizabeth Ramsden Eames, Bertrand Russell’s Dialogue with His Contemporaries (Southern Illinois 1989)

1989   Alan Ryan, Bertrand Russell: A Political Life (Hill and Wang 1988)

1988   Paul Kuntz, Bertrand Russell (Twayne 1986)

1987   Kenneth Blackwell, The Spinozistic Ethics of Bertrand Russell (Allen & Unwin 1985)

1986   No Award Given

1985   Blackwell, Brink, Griffin, Rempel, and Slater (eds.), The Collected Papers of Bertrand Russell, v. 1, Cambridge Essays 1888-99 (Allen and Unwin 1983) [contents]

The Bertrand Russell Society Book Award Committee currently (as of May, 2023) consists of Russell Wahl (chair), Kenneth Blackwell, Nicholas Griffin, and Landon Elkind.