Bertrand Russell

Russell Society Home Page

About Bertrand Russell

About the Russell Society

The BRS Library

Society Publications

Russell Texts Online

Russell Resources

JOIN the Russell Society!

Officers and Organization

Contact Us

Honorary Members of the



Tariq Ali
Kenneth Blackwell
Mario Bunge
Noam Chomsky
Elizabeth R. Eames
Daniel Ellsberg
Christopher Farley
Johan Galtung
Taslima Nasrin
John Allen Paulos
John Russell
Amartya Sen
Katharine Russell Tait
Ibn Warraq

Each honorary member meets at least one of the following criteria: 1. is a member of Russell’s family, 2. had worked closely with Russell in an important way, 3. has made a distinctive contribution to Russell scholarship, 4. has acted in support of a cause or idea that Russell championed, 5. has promoted awareness of Russell or of Russell’s work, 6. has exhibited qualities of character (such as moral courage) reminiscent of Russell.

Past honorary members (now deceased): A.J. Ayer, Ken Coates, Peter Cranford, Lester Denonn, Paul Edwards, Antony Flew, Michael Foot, Ivor Grattan-Guinness, Paul Kurtz, Nelson Mandela, Linus Pauling, David Pears, Karl Popper, W.V. Quine, Conrad Russell, Dora Russell, Edith Russell, John Conrad Russell, Paul A. Schilpp